Class Post #2

After reading Kerwin’s article, “Why Fans Un-Friend Your Brand on Facebook”, I found myself in agreement that too much information is a definite way to lose fans. I have unfriended myself from brands I thought were spamming my Facebook page with uninteresting content and pushing too much product too often. I’ve like brands in order to gain a discount, but immediately unfriended them once I no longer had a reason to keep being affiliated. The lack of more compelling interaction is a big factor. I feel like I am about to unfriend myself from a few TV series Facebook pages as they have been posting stills from past seasons with titles such as “remember when..?” To me, this is the equivalent of watching a re-run on tv. The update is not an update but old news and does not affect me.

The brands I continue to be friends with are those that do not post too many updates. For example, I find that bands only post updates regarding CD releases or tour news. Because these updates are relatively few but are highly newsworthy, I do not feel spammed with uninteresting continent. I am also a fan of the Balloon Fiesta, which will post an interesting picture of a new balloon for next year’s festival, but does not spam my page with information.

I believe it is okay for brands to have a rhythm to their updates. As an intern for the National Institute of Flamenco, I monitored the Facebook page. I would update the Facebook site about visiting Flamenco artists, class schedules, Tableau performances, sales, and Festival news. These updates were diverse and together created a steady pace. Around festival time, however, the updating schedule became more frequent as artists from around the world signed up to perform. Special merchandise also became available at this time. While the volume of the updating was higher around this time, the updates were also very note-worthy as the festival only comes once a year and features artists who live in more remote areas of the world and are a real treat to witness.

As a Facebook user, I favor a more steady rhythm, with allowances for an increased pace if the content is relevant.

Leave a Reply

